Shortcutting… Low Carb Cooking

14 May

I have failed many diets in my time, but one I come back to time and time again is the low-carb diet (also known as semi-Atkins), because I can pretend to myself that I’m eating less when I cut the carbs. There are all sorts of dishes one could try out, but as a Shortcutter-in-chief I opt for the quickest, easiest low-carb meal: the omelette. (N.B. I realize the quickest, easiest diet is in fact starvation, but I have found this to be somewhat impractical.)

I got the omelette ‘recipe’ (it’s so simple I’m not sure I can even call it that) from a friend, and having tried doing it in slightly different ways each time, with varied results.

The basic recipe is this:

Beat two eggs in a bowl, melt some butter in a frying pan, pour the eggs into the pan, let it start to solidify/ get omelette-y, put on your filling, fold one side over, flip it so it’s cooked on both sides, et voila – simples.

Here are some pictures marking my progress:

Disaster! I'm just going to pretend this was meant to be scrambled eggs...

Disaster! I’m just going to pretend this was meant to be scrambled eggs…

A definite improvement but rectangular due to folding problems...

A definite improvement but rectangular due to folding problems…

A true beauty. Masterchef here I come!

A true beauty. Masterchef here I come!

3 Responses to “Shortcutting… Low Carb Cooking”

  1. Tilly Bud May 15, 2012 at 11:44 am #

    I have never been able to make omlette.

    • Tilly Bud May 15, 2012 at 11:44 am #

      It would appear I can’t spell it, either šŸ™‚

    • shortcutting May 15, 2012 at 4:03 pm #

      I don’t blame you: the omelette is a very fragile creature that doesn’t respond well to folding or flipping :s

Leave a Reply

