Shortcutting… Bad Weather

6 Jun

Where I am at the moment the weather has been fluctuating wildly between blazing sunshine and pouring rain. While it’s always fun being kept on your toes, there’s only so long you can sit on a beach in the pouring rain, no matter how big your umbrella. It has therefore been necessary to find some indoor things to do, and I now present you with what I have done, lest you find yourself in a similar situation.

Games: As I’ve mentioned before, I’m a big games person, and games such as the Hat Game and Categories, which I’m pretty sure I’ve explained in a previous post, provide endless lols, so much so that you hardly want the rain to stop at all. Card games are also fun, although I have a special list of ones which I refuse to play because I’m not very good (some call it childish; I call it tactical).

Puzzles: There’s something very therapeutic about slotting little pieces into place to create a wonderful masterpiece, and this week I have embarked upon a 1000 piece wonder to keep me occupied during the rain. I’ll take a picture if I ever finish it but I’m slightly dubious as not only is it incredibly hard, but it’s also on a public table that I’m not at all the time, so could potentially be taken apart by random people at any time. I have left a little ‘Do not destroy!’ note to discourage people from this, but I still keep waking up in the middle of the night wondering whether it’s lying shattered all over the floor. If you’re looking for a challenge, go for the variety of puzzle where it all kinda looks the same, and the bigger the better of course. As far as techniques go, I’d definitely recommend starting with the edge.

Books: Reading’s always a great way to lose yourself in a sunnier reality than your own, and it should be even better now you know how to skim read ;).

Conversation: If you get really desperate you could try talking to people, but I tend to keep this as a last resort.

The sun’ll come out tomorrow…

Keep shortcutting,
Zoe

2 Responses to “Shortcutting… Bad Weather”

  1. ribbie June 6, 2012 at 10:52 pm #

    conversation as a last resort – lol…it is a bit overrated.

    • shortcutting June 7, 2012 at 8:32 am #

      Yes, the only thing other people are good for is games…

Leave a comment