Shortcutting… Early Mornings

10 Jun

Okay, I’m not going to pretend I have to wake up at some ungodly hour tomorrow morning – it’s not exactly a time that deserves sympathy, and is in fact probably a time many would consider a lie in. But in my defence, I would like to say that it is two and a half hours earlier than I have been waking up all week, so it is still going to be quite painful. And even if tomorrow doesn’t exactly qualify, I have had enough genuine early mornings in my time to feel in a position to offer some advice.

Now, I am a person who needs a hell of a lot of sleep. Unless I’ve had about nine and a half hours (which is pretty rare), I always feel really tired in the morning. Less than six hours and I can barely function. Having said that, I do think that a tiny bit of sleep is often worse than no sleep at all, so there is a certain time of morning where I personally would rather just not sleep at all. If I have to wake up at some time before about 2.30, I tend to just stay awake and maybe watch a film or something until then. There’s nothing worse than waking up about five minutes after you get to sleep.

The worst time of morning in my opinion is that 3.00 – 4.30 slot where staying awake is virtually impossible but you still can’t get enough sleep to be anywhere near functional. If you have to be up at this time, there is little I can do for you, except advise you to get absolutely everything prepared the night before – not only does it give you that eensy bit more sleep, it also means you are less prone to making those not-enough-sleep mistakes like forgetting your wallet/ passport/ trousers.

Any time after 4.30 and you should be able to get a little bit of sleep; at least enough to get you through the morning, although still try and get stuff ready the night before.

To maximise sleep I’d recommend not sleeping that much the night before so you’re tired enough to sleep the night in question, although I know some people favour the storing-up-on-sleep method. Another thing I find quite sleep-inducing is a warm bath before bed, preferably with some kind of lavender stuff going on. Sounds kinda stupid but it really makes me feel sleepy!

For more advice on the subjects of sleeping and dealing with tiredness, please feel free to take a look at my posts Shortcutting… Sleeping and Shortcutting… Tiredness (I should really figure out how to link to them from here). Aside from that, just have a strong cuppa in the morning and try not to collapse at an awkward moment!

Keep shortcutting,
Zoe

Leave a Reply

