Shortcutting… Cliché

20 Jun

Sometimes, coming up with blog posts is like trying to get blood out of a stone. Honestly, I’ve been up burning the midnight oil trying to think of something to write about more times than I’ve had hot dinners. But hey, when life gives you lemons, make lemonade, right? So I figured, I’d just sit and think for a while: patience is a virtue, and let’s not forget that good things come to those who wait. And then, in a flash, it hit me. I must be as blind as a bat not to have seen it before. A totally original topic that’s never been done before… The cliché!

Now, clichés really rub me up the wrong way. Maybe I ought to keep my trap shut about them, but I am a strong believer that the squeaky wheel gets the grease. So let me break it down for you: avoid clichés wherever possible. Always try and find your own way of saying things. I too have succumbed to the cliché on many an occasion, as I’m sure you’ll be quick to point out if I don’t. But I do try to be original. It’s important for short things like blog posts or articles, and especially for short stories. If you’re writing a novel (and everyone is these days), it’s not the end of the world if your character’s ‘heart skips a beat’ or his ‘hair stands on end’ or ‘shivers run down his spine’ every once in a while (Jesus, what are you writing, some kind of horror story?!).  But in a short story, it’s probably better if his ‘sino-atrial node misses a nerve impulse’ or something instead. You’ve only got a few words to play with, so you don’t want half of them to belong to someone else! Vis-à-vis finding more original ways of saying things, probably ignore what I did just there of finding synonyms, and instead think of a slightly different way of getting across the same gist: to take the ‘heart skips a beat’ example again, you might instead say ‘his heart began throbbing like a dubstep bass line’ (okay I admit that wasn’t very good but I’m tired 😦 ask me again another time).

I hope that didn’t seem too much like the blind leading the blind, but I swear I gave it a hundred and ten percent!

Remember, it ain’t over until the fat lady sings… Tralalalala! Okay, it’s over.

Keep shortcutting,

Zoe

6 Responses to “Shortcutting… Cliché”

  1. idiotprufs June 20, 2012 at 10:35 pm #

    “Squeaky wheel gets the grease” is a cliche.

    • shortcutting June 21, 2012 at 6:21 am #

      Haha yes I was trying to use a lot of clichés in this post to be all clever and ironic, but I can see now that I perhaps didn’t really make that obvious enough…

  2. gingerjudgesyou June 20, 2012 at 10:58 pm #

    Sino-atrial node? You must work in a hospital!! Nice post!

    • shortcutting June 21, 2012 at 6:27 am #

      Thanks :). Sadly I don’t, I just know a few random scientific terms to give the impression that I know what I’m talking about…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Shortcutting… Weather Songs « shortcutting - June 23, 2012

    […] what they say: quality not quantity! (I feel really self-conscious about phrases like that since my Shortcutting… Cliché post but it did seem necessary there.) So yes, there’s my breaking news for the day. Onto the […]

  2. Shortcutting… Memories « shortcutting - July 3, 2012

    […] can you? And you know what they say: a picture paints a thousand words! (Yes, I know, another cliche – give me a break!) Because the sad and sorry truth is that if you don’t take photos, […]

Leave a Reply

