Shortcutting… Weather Songs

23 Jun

Okay, so I didn’t blog again yesterday. That’s two Fridays in a row (or whatever day yesterday was for you – check me out, catering for my international readership :D). So I’ve decided I’m going to make Friday my official day of rest because, as you may have noticed, I don’t have enough ideas for seven days a week. And you know what they say: quality not quantity! (I feel really self-conscious about phrases like that since my Shortcutting… Cliché post but it did seem necessary there.) So yes, there’s my breaking news for the day. Onto the main post…

The other day, my Mum looked out of the window, said ‘here comes the rain again’, and then, ‘how does that song go again’? I scoffed, gave her a disdainful look, and said ‘uh, it’s here comes the sun, duh!’ Apparently, and I know this is shocking and hard to believe, I was wrong. Actually, if my sources are reliable, it probably isn’t so shocking. My sources tell me that it’s a pretty famous song, so it’s likely you know it. In my defense, it was released in 1984 (yes, I’ve done my homework!), which is before my time. Well anyway, the point of this post it not to ponder over my limited musical knowledge, but rather to find weather-related songs. Basically, I have this thing where whenever I can, I burst into song when people say things (‘hello’ = ‘hello, is it me you’re looking for?’/ ‘I just came to say hello’. ) Anyway, I’ve noticed that there are a lot of weather-related songs, which are really fun to keep pissing people off with every time they try the whole ‘commenting on the weather’ small talk thing, and I thought I’d share them with you so that we can start a little flash mob type thing every time someone mentions the weather. Here’s what I’ve got:

  • Here Comes The Sun
  • The Sun’ll Come Out Tomorrow
  • Chasing The Sun
  • Let The Sun Shine
  • Ain’t No Sunshine
  • It’s Raining Men
  • Here Comes The Rain Again (apparently)
  • Umbrella
  • Why Does It Always Rain On Me?
  • Set Fire To The Rain
  • Purple Rain
  • Blowing In The Wind
  • Somewhere Over The Rainbow

Let me know if you can think of some more…

The sun’ll come out tomorrow :).

Keep shortcutting,

Zoe

4 Responses to “Shortcutting… Weather Songs”

  1. juliclue June 23, 2012 at 10:55 pm #

    “I can’t stand the rain” (Tina Turner)
    “You are my sunshine” (…my only sunshine and so on)
    “The colors of the rainbow so pretty in the sky”, “I see skies of blue and clouds of white” (Louis Armstrong)

    • shortcutting June 24, 2012 at 10:13 am #

      Ooh yes, I have actually heard of the ‘you are my sunshine’ and ‘what a wonderful world’ ones but I’ll admit I’m not familiar with the first one. Thanks for introducing me to it anyway 🙂

  2. ribbie June 24, 2012 at 12:28 am #

    I hear the rain – Violent Femmes (a little dark)

    Rainy Days and Monday – Carpenters (Covered by Pat Metheny on What’s It All About) http://open.spotify.com/track/1Sv7zdEn0ez8ToEKsPiWWj

    • shortcutting June 24, 2012 at 10:14 am #

      My limited music knowledge strikes again – I haven’t heard of either of those… I’ll give them a listen though, thanks for the links!

Leave a Reply

