Shortcutting… Memories

3 Jul

Today I took a trip down memory lane – with the help of Facebook of course – looking at photos from different occasions and getting that warm fuzzy feeling of nostalgia that old memories always bring. Everything was so much better in the good old days of last summer, wasn’t it? That’s the great thing about nostalgia – it makes any time in the past seem wonderful and glorious and so much better than the now (actually that part’s not so great, it’s a bit of a downer really…). So anyway, I’ve found some sure-fire ways to keep those memories alive and taunting:

  • Photos: It’s an obvious one but I think some people still underestimate them. Some people have a problem with people who take pictures of every experience rather than just living it, but you can’t show off living it to other people in the future can you? And you know what they say: a picture paints a thousand words! (Yes, I know, another cliche – give me a break!) Because the sad and sorry truth is that if you don’t take photos, you’ll forget things (I should point out that there needs to be a healthy balance between living it and seeing it through a lens, but do keep a camera handy if possible…) One great thing about posting photos on Facebook too is that not only do you get to show off how amazing your life is to all your ‘friends’, but also the people involved can comment on the photo with all their fond memories of the time in question, so if you’ve forgotten a few hilarious or heartwarming moments there’s bound to be someone to remind you.
  • Reunions: I should stress that these are to be done in moderation!!, but having a group reunion every now and then is a great way to rekindle that kind of warm, friendly atmosphere of last summer’s trip to Greece or wherever. The risk with having reunions too frequently is that the nostalgia starts to wear off and you start remembering all the bad parts too, like how annoying it was when Jenny was always really bossy and controlling, or Joey was really rude and obnoxious. But a rare get-together is great for reminiscing and replaying every wonderful moment.
  • Lists: Okay, this is going to sound super lame, but hear me out. One on or two holidays, I and my fellow holiday-makers have, all emotional on the last day, made a list of our favourite moments of the trip. It just seemed like a nice way to end it at the time, but I looked at one today and started smiling and laughing and feeling all warm and nostalgic all over again. It’s the same idea as a picture, but you tend to get a higher memory density, so it’s higher on the nostalgia scale.

I’m sorry if you didn’t enjoy reading this: my posts just aren’t as good as they used to be… (Yes, that was a joke, fool!)

Keep shortcutting,

Zoe

4 Responses to “Shortcutting… Memories”

  1. mamagirlsaysitall July 4, 2012 at 5:55 pm #

    Oh, if it weren’t for pictures, I wouldn’t remember anything at all! At least, that’s the way it seems sometimes! I left my short-term memory somewhere in my twenties. And long-term never has worked well. So, thank goodness for pictures! Now… if I could just remember to look at them! LOL!

    • shortcutting July 4, 2012 at 10:20 pm #

      Yes, I know how you feel – thank god for the camera or we’d all have no idea who we were!

  2. ribbie July 7, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

    I agree that photo balance is key. I like your list idea. I try to write a blog post about something connected to a trip so that way I have something to look back on and some context for any photos I or others may have taken.

    • shortcutting July 11, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

      Yes, that does sound like a good idea – ‘a picture paints a thousand words’ isn’t always true…

Leave a Reply

