Shortcutting… Shopping

16 Jul

Although the weather may have other ideas, I have decided it is time to start purchasing that ever-important Summer wardrobe: shades, hat (I’m sensitive, remember!), swimsuit, floral-print dresses (or whatever this Summer’s fashion is – my fashion-forward friend is loving studs this season so I’m bearing that in mind), and all that jazz. Just add sun.

In the past four days, I have been shopping twice. The first time I bought nothing. The second time I bought eight separate items. The difference, my friends, was a list. As you may by now have realised, I’m very keen on my lists. Yes, it was slightly embarrassing having a list in public, but I kept it subtly in my bag and only looked at it when I was pretty sure no one was looking. Another key factor was desperation. I’m actually going on holiday tomorrow (woop di woop!) so it was of paramount importance that I get everything I needed yesterday. On Friday, there wasn’t the same pressure, so I just didn’t have the drive to get it all done. Also, I have a thing, I don’t know if it’s widely shared, about trying on clothes. I spoke yesterday about momentum with throwing things away, and the same can be said of trying things on. At first, you sort of pick things up that you quite like but you can’t quite bring yourself to try them on – ‘they’re not worth it’ you tell yourself, in a sort of reverse-L’Oreal kinda way. But once you find that one thing that you just have to try on, you build up momentum until you’re two pairs of shorts and a dress over the maximum fitting room allowance. So just take that first step, and you’ll be fine.

Happy shopping!

Keep shortcutting,
Zoe

4 Responses to “Shortcutting… Shopping”

  1. ribbie July 16, 2012 at 11:32 pm #

    Have a nice holiday, or vacation as we call it here in the States. Keep listing, unless you are in a boat. Cheers!

  2. msperfectpatty July 18, 2012 at 3:20 am #

    I usually keep my list on my phone so it just looks like I’m texting somebody or looking something up–just an idea. Love the post!

    • shortcutting July 28, 2012 at 10:21 am #

      That is a good idea, much more subtle. I’ll definitely do that next time!

Leave a Reply

