Shortcutting… Adverts

23 Jul

In order to recover from the heat of the day, I’ve been spending a lot of time chilling in an air-conditioned room watching television. And one of the few channels with programmes in English only ever seems to advertise its own programmes, so that I pretty much know them off by heart. In fact, I’ve found this to be a recurrent problem with today’s t.v.: not enough adverts man! Of course, in this day and age, there’s often the opportunity to fast-forward adverts, but for those times when you just gotta sit it out, I’ve found some fun games to make the adverts pass a bit faster:

1) Name that advert. Simple but enjoyable: first person to name what the advert’s for gets a point, bonus points if you haven’t seen the advert before.

2) Synchro. Say the words of the advert at exactly the same time as they are said during the advert (only works for constantly repeated ones).

3) Lookalikes. Think of a person who looks like each person in the advert and start calling them by that name: ‘oh look, it’s Jennifer again’. (Not so much a game as a source of mild amusement.)

4) Drinking game. Choose an advert and take a drink (preferably alcoholic) every time it comes on.

5) Back story. Make up a back-story for every advert, the more complex the better.

I’m sure there are countless other ways to make adverts more bearable so do share any good ones you have (or bad ones).

Keep shortcutting,
Zoe

2 Responses to “Shortcutting… Adverts”

  1. kamillaberdin August 9, 2012 at 9:00 pm #

    You must watch a lot of TV to have thought of these games. Still, some of these are pretty funny. I haven’t had cable TV in a while so I haven’t seen any commercials in a while, but my favourite used to be the infomercials. I think it’s even better to play ‘Name that advert’ to them!

    • shortcutting August 9, 2012 at 11:23 pm #

      Indeed I do – my eyes are getting squarer by the day. We don’t have infomercials in the UK (thankfully in my opinion) but I imagine that such long ads certainly need a few games to keep them interesting!

Leave a Reply

